He took a hold of me

with piercing blue eyes,

like an endless ocean of disregard,

washing over me

and drowning me in self-loathing.

He took a hold of me

with massive hands

that smothered me

under the history of a vicious cycle.

He took a hold of me

with words that hit me

in the face with lacerations,

and fell to my sides,

broken,

but proven useful,

like a bee who’s stung you for its protection.

He took a hold of me,

and broke me to make himself whole again.

I’d never given him the pieces

to mend himself back together,

no,

I’m gluing them back to myself instead.

 

 

Leave a Reply

