I can’t help

but feel the squelching heat of defeat

I’m beat, life has won

I’m done with all the running away

praying for another day to save myself

when all I want is the peace beneath my eyelids

and they have no clue what I plan to do

behind closed doors.

Linoleum floors never felt colder underneath soft skin

I say it’s comfort but you call it a sin.

But who wins when you can’t find me in an abandoned bathroom

struggling to breathe beneath the heat of defeat

that did me in?

 

 

 

image credit

Leave a Reply

